RSS

Remembering Amy

16 Sep

If I’m right then Amy’s Gran Fondo in Lorne has taken place 5 times. I’ve been there 4 times and ridden it thrice. It’s a fantastic event that only gets better. This year the organisers added a Women’s Crit race in the main street of Lorne which was a marvellous spectacle. The hillclimb against the clock is brilliant, watching the riders putting themselves through pain to climb Bay Street to roar of the crowd is exciting.

IMG_2309

Mary Ann did the piccolo ride and I raced in my age category (60-64) in the 109km Gran Fondo. I finished a minute longer than my best time in 2012 so that’s allowed room for improvement. The weather, the sprint down the Great Ocean Road and the Skenes Creek and Benwerrin climbs all combined for a a great day. I had one issue with my Garmin which caused me some grief but I pushed on and it seemed to come right when I switched off the Bluetooth. The segment timer came in really handy on the first two segments of the Benwerrin climb where I scored PRs. If I had more experience with it I would have got better times on Sprint and KOM stages.

MyResult

Seeing local Eltham rider Brendan Canty clean up in every possible category really topped the day off as did a cold Forest Beer at the finish back in Lorne. We ran into old friends and made new ones, there’s plenty of places to eat and drink, all with the the fabulous Lorne backdrop.

You should enter the ride next year, its great.

.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 16, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Remembering Amy

  1. bacanty

    September 19, 2015 at 1:29 pm

    glad to read that you enjoyed the weekend away! Nice photo of us on the Monday morning too, I was wondering if you took something with your phone out as we came past

     

Leave a comment